Writing challenges

(S.S) Hindsight 20/20

[You have, 1, voicemail]

“Robby, are you sleeping? Was wondering what you will want for dinner tonight. I saw that you called me 30 times earlier today, but I couldn’t answer the call. Was in a meeting and had tons of work to do. Will be reaching home soon so hang tight alright bud? See ya.”

[End of voicemail. Press “1” to repeat-]

“Robby, I’m home! Dinner’s your favourite. Robby?”

I should have picked up those calls.

“Robby? Robby! HEY WAKE UP! Oh my FUCKING GOD! Hello? 911?”

I could have dissuaded you from doing it.

[“1”]

[You have, 1, voicemail]

“Robby, are you sleeping? ___ _______ ____ ___ ____ ____ ___ ______ _______. I saw that you called me 30 times earlier today, but I couldn’t answer the call. Was in a meeting and had tons of work to do. Will be reaching home soon so hang tight alright bud? See ya.”

[End of voicemail. Press “1” to repeat-]

“How’s he doctor? Tell me he’s going to be fine.”

I should have known that something was wrong.

“I.. just saw multiple opened bottles on his table, was a mix of Prozac, Luvox and… Celexa, I think. I will verify the rest when I get home.”

I could have stopped you.

[“1”]

[You have, 1, voicemail]

“Robby, are you sleeping? ___ ______ ___ __ ___ ___ __ ______ __________ . I saw that you called me 30 times earlier today, but I couldn’t answer ___ ____. ___ __ _ ______ ___ had tons of work to do. ___ __ _________ ____ _____ __ hang tight alright bud? See ya.”

[End of voicemail. Press “1” to repeat-]

“Hello? I’m taking an unpaid leave for the next few days. Yeah, I know the project’s due but… It’s my brother…”

I should have spent more time with you.

“Somebody! Please! Call the doctor! NOW!”

I could have helped you.

[“1”]

[You have, 1, voicemail]

“Robby, __ ___ _____? ___ ______ ___ __ ___ ___ __ ______ __________. _ __ ___ you called me 30 times ______ ____, but I couldn’t _______ ___ ____. ___ __ _ ______ ___ ___ ____ __ ____ __ __. ___ __ _______ ____ _____ __ ____ ______ _________ ___ _ See ya.”

[End of voicemail. Press “1” to repeat-]

And you would have still been alive.

And you would have still been breathing.

And you would have still been living.

I should have, I could have, and you would have.

Should have.

Could have..

Would have…

[“0”]

[The voicemail has been deleted. You have, 0, voicemail]

But nothing matters anymore…

Because nothing I do now, can ever bring you back.

Written by Fica
Challenge 2: Free Genre, Folklore/Aesop, 500-700 words, 2 characters max (sorry i really don’t know what an aesop is ><).
Other works:
Leave a light on by ReyDaniels: (https://www.wattpad.com/1088147977-leave-a-light-on)

Leave a comment